What's new
What's new

How to fix cracked pot metal?

gmoushon

Cast Iron
Restoring an old Hammond Dustless grinder that had been damaged in the past. One of the light housings is cracked and I'm looking for suggestions for the repair. Its functional, but I would like to fix if possible.

I have a TIG machine. Not sure if this is best or not, especially since the metal is thin and I'm still learning the art of TIG welding. Thought about JB weld or brazing...

Any suggestions?

gm.

Click image for larger version.

Light.jpg

I would leave it damaged without trying to bring it back into shape. Make a support from 6061 that matches each side of the break as close as possible. Clamp into position and run tap drill though both the support and the part damaged. Tap through both the support and the part while still clamped. Clean the tapped areas with a cleaning solution that will remove all traces of contamination. Snug the machine screws in place while still clamped. Use JB Weld (not JB Kwik) and cover the intersecting seams of the part and support. Warm the JB Weld with a heat gun and let the JB Weld flow. Leave it alone for 24 hours and then remove clamps.

You can place the support on whichever side is convenient. If on the outside and you have no interference, use a big support to gain surface area.

If this part shown is the base, Attach it to a new base and gain support from it.

If the device is an important tool, I would replicate the entire piece using CAD and exacting measurements to design a machinable replacement, then you can always make another. It will also fit like a glove to the device.

Grinder.jpgBoth Light Hoods.jpg

Thanks for the reply.

Here two more pictures showing an undamaged light hood as well as the complete grinder.

I had thought of designing a complete hood, but I think the original can be repaired.

Sounds like the JB will be the best option.

gm