What's new
What's new

How to locate the top on a part at 45 degrees?

SpencerFTO

Plastic
Hey there,

I'm using a mini-mill (Minitech GX mill: Mini-Mill/GX - MINITECH MACHINERY CORPORATION) to machine tiny grooves into parts. I'm new to milling (been learning the machine for the last couple months). The grooves are 90 degree cuts, we call them v-grooves. The company has decided that the easiest way is to use an endmill with the part tilted up to 45 degrees (we have a trunnion table on the mill). This angle makes locating difficult. I've read about using 1-2-3 blocks or paper as a sort of feeler, but this won't really work on a top edge.

My question is this: What is the easiest way to accurately locate the top of the part? The highest point on the part is the top corner edge, and I've been bringing the tool (0.040" endmill) closer and closer until I feel it catch or until I can't see light through, but this seems very inaccurate.

The parts we make are ~7mm across and the v-grooves are all under 0.3mm across them (or 0.3mm spacing).

Thanks for any tips!
S

If you can get to the part with a height gage, use it to find the top of the part. Then just set your tool to the height gage.

I'm also not in a machine shop. Our set up here is pretty limited, so no height gage unfortunately.
I've thought about the math suggestion, but not sure exactly how that would work. The axis of the trunnion isn't marked and the part doesn't sit in line with the axis. GENERALDISARRAY could you expand?

Thanks for the quick replies! That's awesome!
S

Toolroom guy has it nailed. For better accuracy, use an indicator in the spindle to pick up the center of the roll, but that method is universally how it is done.

Probably the easiest way would be to use a pin with a 45 or 60 degree point in place of the end mill and line up the point with the top edge. Then replace with the end mill and touch to get the Z, then use trig for X and Z coordinates for each cut.