What's new
What's new

How to Select a Material

ncsteinb

Plastic
Hello,

Firstly, I know this is a big question. I'm not looking for a specific answer for a specific question, but rather a more general question on how one goes about selecting a material. To illustrate my question, I will pose a specific example just for sake of clarity.

OK, so I'm a mech engineer (I know..hahaha, an engineer asking machinists questions :willy_nilly:), been in the field for 10+ years designing and making all sorts of things. I've worked as a machinist for a few years as well. I've never thought of materials and heat treating to be my strong suit, but I know enough to choose between a 1000 series carbon steel and a 2000 series aluminum.

The specific design problem: I have a machining fixture that I'm designing, and I need some sort of pad to locate my part in Z that also is wear resistant, as steel parts will be placed on this surface prior to machining and clamped up thousands of times. I know I want a low alloy steel that can be hardened and ground. I'm thinking of a 1050 steel...

I understand the differences between a 1010 and a 1095 carbon steel, but when would you chose a 1050 over a 1060? Where does one learn these nuances? When would a 6061-T4 fare better over a 6061-T6? These are things we are not taught in college (at least not in mine). I've always heard that these things come with experience, which is typically the way we all learn. However, as one of two engineers in an entire plant, I'm spread pretty thin, which doesn't allow me much time to spend on "gaining experience" in material selection and heat treating.