What's new
What's new

I need advice for cutting HDPE plastic im a newbie

Angel619392

Plastic
Ok so its my first post on the forum.... I want to learn how to cut HDPE sheets with a circular saw and use a router as well to cut out basic shapes like squares out of 1/4 inch HDPE sheets of 4' x 8' material max 3/8 inch material...

So im just confused because I hear about deep feeding when cutting, cooling when cutting, certain rpms to it does not melt so im overwhelmed...

I just want an answer to these 3 questions

1. How to cut HDPE sheets with a circular saw like what specific saw blades should I use and why those specific ones? If it helps I have a dewalt 60V cordless brush less circular saw.... Holds a 7 1/4" saw blade and I will just be doing straight cuts with the saw. Cutting 4 x 8 sheets into 4 x 4 then 4 x 2 sheets. Literally like that

2. Then I want to know about cutting HDPE with routers like what drill bits do I need I keep seeing "O" flute and ball nose which I have no idea what it is... So ill be making basic square cuts in the middle of a sheet of HDPE so what type of bits and strategies/tips do you know..

3. Do I need to cool off hdpe while cutting? How can I do that?

Thank you guys in advance!

Well what your saying is all hobby based methods with some risk involved, i have not had to use those methods so cannot answer your questions.

All the plastics i have cut are on a lathe or mill or water jet industrial quality machines giving a precise result, well as far as you can go with plastic.

A waterjet is great for cutting out complex shapes to a reasonable tolerance and will do things at a speed its not worth trying to muck around at home, just buy time on a machine.ie get someone to do it for you, unless your trained in the use of the machine and can get time on it.