What's new
What's new

If I make it will they buy it

kpotter

Diamond
I have put together a fairly respectable shop and now after years of collecting tools i want to do somthing with them besides make more of them with them. I dont want to do one off type stuff that is a pain I already do that for a living I want to make lots of one thing over and over again and sell them just the way I make them. I want to make high end copper cookware. I have no idea if this is a viable pursuit the stuff sells for about 200 bucks for a frying pan and I can make one for about a hundred. Chefs and gourmet cooks love this stuff just like you and I love our tools and they are willing to spend the money for it. I would obviously want to sell mine for more than two hundred. I have experience in making and selling luxury goods but they have always been one of a kind and that makes it impossible to grow your business when the customer is buying you not just your product. Just so you guys dont think I am a complete idiot and pulled this idea out of my you no what I have made custom sterling silver tea sets and holloware and use my machine tools to make dies and stakes for forming metal.

I am interested in hearing from people that do produce a product and sell it, and if they sell it wholesale or if they market it directly to the customer. So many of the basic necesities of life are mass produced and sold for so little that I am apprehensive about even trying it.

If you can come up with a good marketing campaign, it'll take off. If you can't, then it won't, regardless of how good your stuff is.

You know and love metalworking so you're off to a good start. Since you're getting into high end cookware, you should probably also know and love cooking.