What's new
What's new

Industrial Electronics/Systems Resources?

lspotts38

Aluminum
Does anyone here know of a good resource (online, print, otherwise) for an introduction to applications of industrial electronic devices? Current role is of manufacturing engineer, focused primarily on fixturing & gage design, cutting tool selection & CNC programming. I would really like to learn more about current state of the art in industrial electronics, i.e. selection of hardware, PLC programming & integration of simple machines in the industrial setting. I have zero experience with these kind of systems now, and can see new applications in our facility and would certainly like to know more about what some of the electronic devices are on the machine tools. I would like to be able to design some simple systems that have some automation, look in the electronic cabinet of the machine and have SOME understanding of what I'm looking at, and an understanding of external function integration to our machine tools. I did some searching on the topics, but it seems so that here are not many introductory materials available. Anybody have a good starting point? TIA.

The vocational school here in Erie county offers/offered "Industrial electronics" and
I think it covers what your looking for.

https://ia800307.us.archive.org/6/i...cs/Fundamentals_of_Industrial_Electronics.pdf

I have a few books published by CRC Press. No complaints. You can download this book for free. In a technical book store it would cost $$.

Home | BEI Sensors - Rotary Encoder Products for Motion Control

Look at their wireless encoders. A lot of other products too.

http://197.14.51.10:81/pmb/ELECTRON...ble Logic Controllers Programming Methods.pdf

There are some modern PLC's these days with programming accomplished via a built-in LCD screen.

Subscribe to MachineDesign.com

Subscribe to MachineDesign.com

And to control design which might have more of what you are after.