What's new
What's new

O-Ring Squeezes- Static or Dynamic? Does it really manner?

4GSR

Diamond
I copied this from another thread to here so the other thread does not get cluttered up from this being off topic. There has been several already mentioned comments made on the other thread. Maybe one of the moderators can move the comments over to this thread. Ken

Does it really matter if it is a static seal? Or a dynamic seal? It really doesn't really matter...

I've been doing engineering for nearly 40 years in the profession I work in. Only had one or two fellow engineers I had to sit down and explain why you can't do it that way. And after they fix their mistake, turned right around and did the same mistake again! Eventually layoffs got them. I thrive on the shop giving me feedback on just about anything that is questionable as to changing a feature to make it easier to machine to why is it designed this way? Why can't it be done this way? My door is always open for the shop guys to come in and visit! And yes, I have machine shop at home where I do a variety of things, too. Ken

I've been using a O-Ring squeeze chart that originated from BakerHughes way back in the 1960's. It is based on the dynamic seal dimensions from the Parker book. The main differences is, it has much more tolerance allowed for machining to and also old school 63 finish in the bottom of the groove or sealing surfaces and 125 finish on the sides of the grooves. Still it has a 10% minimum squeeze designed into it and additional squeeze for adjacent seal surface misalignment. It is the standard we use in the work we do and is shared with over two dozen oilfield equipment manufactures world wide. Normal design parameters are 10,000 psi, and temperatures up to 275 F in Nitrile, 350 F in Aflas and certain Viton compounds. Of course, temperatures over 225 F we use anything from glass filled Teflon to PEEK for backup rings. I can provide the charts if anyone is interested. It won't happen today. Ken