Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Ox View Post
    Well I think that double opposed goes back to the steam days eh?
    It's not a new concept, but hard on real estate!

If it is more efficient, then it would have application in stationary power, or even big ship, but I don't see it going down the road any time soon.

-------------

Think Snow Eh!
    Ox
    Yeah very hard on the equipment. IIRC they are more efficient at harnessing more energy from combustion vs a normal piston engine, but of course the lifespan and cost associated are a problem and the increased efficiency is lost in Parasitic drag from the supporting valve/drive train. I’m no expert.

Definitely not a new idea, and it’s definitely not dead yet.

There are much more radical engines out there that are far more efficient but once again you can’t build’em cheap (nor maintain them) like you can a piston engine!

The gm 350 diesel also suffered greatly to the hands of countless service mechs and private mechanics without proper understanding of the engine

Country
    UNITED STATES MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

If it is more efficient, then it would have application in stationary power, or even big ship, but I don't see it going down the road any time soon.
    Maybe not the road but they were used in power plants, small ships, tugs, submarines, and locomotives. Search Fairbanks-Morse opposed piston diesel engine.

I do remember being in the SF railroad station when SP was running the Trainmasters. Those things would shit-n-git, they used them strictly on the commuters because they'd accelerate so hard. They were an impressive engine.

I've never heard of it on steam but that doesn't mean much, lots of things I never heard of

Country
    AUSTRALIA
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)