What's new
What's new

Insert tooling for Smart Brown 1024

beckerkumm

Hot Rolled
After what seems like a million years, I have the 1024 running. I have two tool posts, a multifix A and an Algra Rapidue which is a Dickson clone. There were a bunch of holders for the Algra but most looked dickson as the flange on the adjuster was too thick. I surface ground them and intend to use them first as I need the algra to make a bolt for the Multifix. Tooling that cam e with the lathe are pictured below but no extra inserts. I'm new to most of this so I would like to know which of these is useful and worth buying inserts for. I'm learning about the nomenaclature ( reading threads here )but don't want to buy a bunch of useless stuff. I have rooms of useless stuff all ready. The 3/4" will work on either post.DSCN3972.jpgDSCN3974.jpgDSCN3976.jpg Any advice is appreciated. Dave

After what seems like a million years, I have the 1024 running. I have two tool posts, a multifix A and an Algra Rapidue which is a Dickson clone. There were a bunch of holders for the Algra but most looked dickson as the flange on the adjuster was too thick. I surface ground them and intend to use them first as I need the algra to make a bolt for the Multifix. Tooling that cam e with the lathe are pictured below but no extra inserts. I'm new to most of this so I would like to know which of these is useful and worth buying inserts for. I'm learning about the nomenaclature ( reading threads here )but don't want to buy a bunch of useless stuff. I have rooms of useless stuff all ready. The 3/4" will work on either post.View attachment 312341View attachment 312342View attachment 312343 Any advice is appreciated. Dave

Ermmm.. Carbides are magically diverse and capable technology, many long years, already. Fast-moving as to upgrades, too.