What's new
What's new

Ist Mill and Lathe Purchase-Large Budget

danmcph

Plastic
First of all. Hi. I have been a long time lurker. I will give you some pretty good background and would love some help.

I want to purchase a Mill and a Lathe. I have a 40-60K budget.

I grew up in a house where my dad literally couldn't fix anything. We owned a crescent wrench, pliers, a hammer and two screwdrivers. I started fixing things when I bought my first dirt bike at age 10 and realized that working on something with just a crescent wrench and a hammer sucks. From that point on I have always felt it was worth it to purchase the best tool I could afford. I also have been completely self taught in each area I have worked to learn. What I do is I pick a skill and work on it exclusively for four years so that I can obtain some level of competence. My last two cycles were 4 years of welding and fabrication and 4 years of woodworking. I know this is a lot of money to spend for a hobbyist who doesn't do this for a living but lots of guys spend money on boats, Harleys or whatever. I choose to spend my money on tools and I have been saving for a few years to purchase these and want to do it once and get it right.

I have wanted to learn lathe and milling operations for over a decade and now I am going to dive in. The local community college will not allow me to attend classes there unless I plan on working full time in the field, which I am not. This means that I am going to have to learn from whatever other sources I can.

I do gunsmithing so am interested in those types of operations but in addition to that I build a lot of other items.