What's new
What's new

journeyman/machinist certification,non-union?

jdj

Diamond
Is there a way to get this journeyman's card or certification if you are not in the union.
I have worked at the same shop for over 10 years.

My shop may close down in the next few years, and I think I need this to get a job.

How important is this certification and how can I get this as a non-union worker.
I wish I was a union member but this shop doesn't have a union. I am on good terms with my boss so I can ask him to write me a letter explaining my skills and experience if this would help.

How should I proceed??

Thank you for any advice you may have.

I'm no expert in the subject, but I am going through the apprentice process right now (I started the program). There's certainly no union involved, or I'd have ran screaming away from it.

The whole process is regulated by your individual state's department of labor. Contact them for definitive answers.

At least in Pennsylvania, it works like this: There's a variety of work categories you must log time under. Being a "mill guy" or "lathe guy" for a hundred years won't work. Grinding, lathes, mills, and any other machines your company has, you need to have time logged against. Both CNC and manual are preferred by the state. There's some class time involved, too. If you have documented and recorded enough time in each category and have taken the requisite classes, the apprenticeship can be retroactive.

But practically, 90% of our people who have interest in getting their papers do not have anywhere near the necessary hour requirement in all the categories. At best, most are one or one and a half years into a four year stint. Take our lathe dude for example: Has some EDM experience, and seven years of lathe work/machining cell experience. All that's only one year of "apprentice" time. He just has ~20,000 hours logged in a 1200 hour category. That kind of schedule just doesn't make sense for most businesses.