What's new
What's new

kearns s type horizontal borer

my turn

Plastic
I have just purchased a kearns s type horizontal borer . I am a novice machinest and know very little about this type of machine. can anyone tell me all about them ? what are their good points and bad . this machine has a faceing chuck with no quill , why is this so . it has no tooling ,and I guess I will have to make what I need ,any ideas , where do I start.

That sounds abnormal for it to not have a quill but to have a facing Slide.

You start by checking over all the ways/table for excessive wear.

Figure out what type of spindle taper it has.

Kearns was a good maker of Hor bores. If your lucky Tyrone Shoelaces will show up in this thread with some information, hes very knowledgeable about the euro-hor-bore manufactures.

Chances are your going to need a solid foundation for it.

Welcome to the forum - I have a Kearns OA type myself.

This question would be better in the antique machinery & history sub-forum which is where most of the horizontal boring machine people hang out.

However I do know that Kearns made those S types in 2 models, with boring head and with quill. They weren't made with both, unlike the bigger ones. You have the - IMO - more desirable variant, I've always regarded them as a gem of a small machine.

Right now I don't believe that you actually own one, though, because there are no photos. No pictures, didn't happen is the rule.

Also you need to update your personal details to show a location - look at my & others' posts, you will see our location shows in the top right corner. This is a forum-wide rule, there are no exceptions, and you should read *and follow* all the guidelines in the 'sticky' threads at the start of this General sub-forum. Your life here will be much smoother if you do.

PDW