What's new
What's new

Keeping Chips Out Of Lathe Steady Rest

QualE

Plastic
I am not a machinist. I have a degree in electromechanical engineering, but I have somehow been promoted to Quality Engineer for our metal shop. I track nonconformance data and our lathes have the most issues by far. The majority of problems are from chips getting between the rollers on the steady rests and the workpiece. Surface damage, nicks, dings, etc. Our main steady rests are made by SMW Autoblok. Our manufacturing engineer doesn't have any suggestions, our machine operators (not machinists) know there is a problem and are willing to try something, but aren't too motivated to look into it. My Google skills must be lacking because I have not been able to find a good way to keep the chips out of the rollers. I'm thinking maybe a wipe or brush. Our fabricator doesn't seem to keen on the idea of fabbing something up. Are there any accessories that I can purchase? Any creative or effective ideas that have worked for any of you? We can't use compressed air or blowers for safety concerns.

Most of the guys I know prefer the brass fingers for that very reason.
What about the emory cloth trick?

On an engine lathe some heavy cardstock slipped over the shaft makes a nice collar to keep the chips at bay. Not sure this would work on a CNC.