What's new
What's new

Knurling help

mwill135

Aluminum
Recently got a scissor style knurling tool. Came with medium grade wheels (diamond). Was looking at getting coarse and/or fine wheels. Web site notes right or left? I know I'm a newbie, are you only suppose to knurl in one direction?

You need Both a right and a left hand knurl to make a diamond other wise you get a spiral . You have to size your blank diameter to the pitch of the knurled or you will likely have trouble getting them to track properly

You have to size your blank diameter to the pitch of the knurled or you will likely have trouble getting them to track properly

That is an old wives tale. There have been numerous threads in the past explaining why trying to figger the circumference divided by the pitch = integer or some theoretical variation (there are lots) is waste of time. In PRACTICE starting with the wheels about half on the part with a decent bite will result in a single-track clean diamond knurl using a common forming (not cutting) knurl. I tried all the mathy stuff—-useless. Start half on half off the work piece, tighten the scissor so that the wheels are taking a decent bite, apply lube oil (not cutting) turn fairly slowly and advance fairly fast. Don’t over roll the knurl and make it turn to powder. Tighten the scissor a bit more and repeat about 2 times. Voila! Done.

Just get out some scrap 12L14, 4140 PH, 6061 AL and spend an hour practicing. It works, is not rocket science, and allows for some handy grips—-both coin and diamond knurls. Then there’s decorative knurling, cut knurls etc. But just stick with diamond and coin knurls—-that will serve 99% of most folks needs most of the time.

Denis

I disagree with you on that. The theory about making the pitch of the knurling tool relate to the diameter of the work is similar to cutting gear teeth. Nobody likes for the last tooth to be thin.

JH