What's new
What's new

Large >5” hole in 24” long 3/8” aluminum plate

Gbalock

Plastic
I turned a 6” x 0.75” disc with a 0.375 notch (the pivot). I now need to machine a hole in one end of a 6“ by 24” 0.375” aluminum’s plate to match the notch in the pivot. I’ll need a fairly close tolerance so that the plate rotates freely on the pivot without binding.

I have access (not mine) to a Bridgeport vertical mill and a rotary table.

So, what is the best way to do this? BTW, I am fairly new to machining.

If both pieces are Aluminium and you want close tolerance and movement, ..I'd do a serious rethink as galling is big problem with alu on alu

I'm not 100% sure I understood what you need, but if it's a hole in the plate, and you don't have suitable dia. cutters (holesaw, etc.), using rotary table on Bridgeport to cut the hole with an endmill is one option. Cutting a smaller hole (with a hole saw, plasma, chain drilling, jigsaw, etc.) and increasing it with a boring head will be another option. Val-Cut trepanning tool, if you're lucky to have one, would be one more way to do it.

For speed and simplicity, I'd lay it out, plasma cut, then finish with a boring head on your mill. What I'm not clear on is whether or not the hole you refer to is straight through, stepped or not through at all. Obviously, the plasma option will only work if at least part of the hole is all the way through the bar.

Reading it again, since the 'notch' is .375 and the bar is .375 thick, a simple through-hole is what you're looking for. Right?

A rotary table + endmill will work, but it is much more difficult to position properly and nearly impossible to get the smoothness (finish) you'd get with a boring head/bar.

Large >5” hole in 24” long 3/8” aluminum plate

Yes, the hole is straight through. What I’m making is a spherical slide rest for a Rose engine, so the amount of wear will be minimal. But, I’m looking for a fairly tight tolerance so that the cuts I make with it are repeatable