What's new
What's new

Late penalty

Anybody have a customer try to add a late fee to a quote? I have been cutting parts for these guys for about 5 years without being late, now I get this BS. They say it is not me, just a new company policy to require all vendors to accept a late penalty. I said I would accept the penalty if there is an equivalent early bonus. What say all?

I would say it's time to sit down and really evaluate whether you need them as a customer. That's what I recommend, not what I would do. I would probably fly off the handle and tell them to fuck off.

The question I have is, do they pay on time? If they do, and you like the work, carry on. If they don't, you introduce and enforce a late fee penalty.

Win...

They were late a few times, been COD for a couple years now. The first time they were supposed to have a a check on delivery it got a little ugly when I left with the parts. The owner called a bit steamed, he cut a check and I delivered the parts. He plays ball now.

The contract should also include a caveat that any changes in the prints, materials, and numbers to be delivered would void any late penalties. I would also include circumstances beyond your control such as availability and shipping times for tooling and materials.

I recently ordered a couple tools from a local vendor. When ordering I was told they would be in my hands within 4 days. A couple days later I got a notice that the shipment was delayed and would now take 10 days to deliver. No big problem as I had ordered the tooling for a future job. However if I had been on a time constrained contract it would have been tough to make the deadline.

I am not the Sears catalog. This is a build-to-order world, and things can go wrong. I would not accept a PO that included a late penalty as a matter of "company policy".

I might negotiate a deal that had a carrot and stick, but it would be a one-off.