What's new
What's new

Lathe choice questions

Ivan Vegvary

Plastic
Owner of a LeBlond Regal 13" lathe. 3 phase machine, running on real 3 phase. Circa 1947.
Three issues: 1) Top speed of 500 RPM 2) Tail stock spindle is loose. Have to way over tighten the spindle lock in order to not have a center drill drift. 3) Cannot run in reverse due to threaded spindle.

I see two choices (but this group will lead me to more). Swap out the lathe for something that has higher RPM available (would like to use carbide insert tooling). Being in the machine starved northwest I am sure I can get my $750 back, the amount I paid 20 years ago.
Choice 2 would be to hold on to the lathe and buy a new, smaller (9-10") more modern lathe with a safer chuck mount system. In this case I would end up with two lathes, with the smaller one being used 90% of the time.
I am a mere hobbyist, making small tooling and stuff for my Tree mill, small 10" shaper and ancient Brown and Sharp surface grinder.

All thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Ivan Vegvary, Sandy, Oregon

I used a South Bend lathe with a threaded spindle for 40 years without spinning the chuck off. You just need to use some sense about it. The worst problem was the opposite, I did some metal spinning and the large forces tightened the faceplate so tight that I had to rig a cutoff tool to cut away the hub. I am no lover of threaded spindles but I got a lot of use from one, including running in reverse occasionally.

It sounds like you need to sleeve the tailstock. You might bore it or line hone it and build up the spindle with hard chrome, then grind it to fit or make a new spindle. A lot of work for an old machine.

500 RPM is very slow for modern tooling.

Bill