What's new
What's new

is this lathe worth owning?

Cleancut

Aluminum
Hi guys, I'm just a hobbyist at this point (except for turning some cylinder bases for a small engine shop), and currently have a worn out southbend that cant hold any great tolerances.

I have been to told to stick with a 14x40 or larger for the rigidity and weight , which i totally agree with...

But, this has come up pretty cheap not too far away. Should I even consider it? it will no doubt be a lot tighter then my old southbend.I think its a 12x36? craftex model B2070. Seems to have a few not so cheap features like separate feed and threading shafts, gap bed etc....dont know if the change gears/carriage is oil bath?

thanks for any input... BTW is this a threaded spindle? thought all the newer stuff was cam-lock..... this craftex is about 2001 era.

IMG_0787.jpgIMG_0783.jpgIMG_0782.jpgIMG_0763.jpgIMG_0785.jpg

It has a geared head,so be sure to remove the cover and look at the gears......and the oil............the feed box is Norton type,so it doesnt run in a bath..check the gears....the apron may have an oil bath.......Appears to be threaded spindle,certainly the faceplate shown is threaded......it would be OK for a price....round here not over $1000,about the same as $C,............You should remember ,the orientals all have hardened beds,the old iron being touted by some generally dont........a hardened bed is essential IMHO,in a used lathe.

Looks like it may be an LOO spindle? There appears to be a collar if you look closely. But.... there's no keyway in the tooling.

Threaded spindle. He has some sort of attachment for detecting RPM? That's a re-badge Jet lathe they used to sell in the early 1980's. A place I worked at had one in one of the departments for quick repairs so it didn't tie up the larger lathes in th production shop.