What's new
What's new

LeBlond 15c Threading

jmoore2784

Plastic
Hey guys,
I am new to machining and need help interpreting the threads and feeds chart on my LeBlond 15c lathe. I am trying to cut 3/4 x 10 threads and the closest pitch on the lathe is 0.104. Also I have looked at a few thread pitch charts online and compared the to the chart on this lathe. Needless to say very few of them match up. Am I missing something? Thanks for the help. I’ll post a picture of the lathe and chart when I get back to my laptop.

You are looking at the feed side of the chart. There is a thread side of the chart that used whole numbers you need for threading. Post a good picture of the chart and an overall shot of the controls and we can tell you how to set your lathe.

There is a possibility you have a manufacturing lathe without a lead screw. The pictures will confirm/deny that possibility.

Can't see the levers well, but if you set the box lever to 'B', the head lever to 'E' and the slider to the slot with the '10', then you get 10tpi. Also, you must use the half-nuts and not the longitudinal feed. Selecting one should lock out the other. (You typically 'select' half nut operations by putting the carriage/crosslide feed selector lever in neutral, then the half-nuts will engage.)

If the markings for the head and/or box levers are missing or unreadable, you'll have to get another user to tell you what they are.

Last edited:
So I turned the threads in the middle picture which are really close if not dead on M1.5 on setting box lever A, Head lever on E, and knob in first slot which has the number 7 and .059 in it. M1.5 is almost 17 TPI (16.93 to be exact) which make no since with the numbers on the lathe.

I have the original manual for it and have read it from cover to cover. it is more about maintenance and parts ordering then operation.

Your photos are a help - show us the gears under left end cover

But first tell us WHAT apron control you are using to "cut threads"