What's new
What's new

Chain and Sprocket strength ???? Bandsaw conversion to metal cutting

rbertalotto

Aluminum
A few years ago I converted my 14" wood bandsaw to cut metal. I used a 3/4hp, 1750rpm, 90V DC motor to slow down the blade SFM. It has worked well on aluminum and thin steel up to about an 1/8". But the blade speed of about 500 SFM is too fast for anything thicker and wears out blade very quickly

I decided to upgrade it with a gear reducer

From Surplus Center I bought a right angle 50-1 gear reducer

Using a 5" pulley on the reducer and a 3" pully on the bandsaws 14" wheel I get my SFM down to 238 which should be right where I need it.

Problem is I now get belt slipping. No problem with torque. but the 3" pully slips badly. I do not have room to increase the size of the pulleys.

Therefore I want to go with chain drive and be done with it.

A #40 chain has strength of 3700 pounds. Would this be strong enough for my application or is this overkill? I have zero experience with chain drive other than motorcycles and bicycles.

Any help or advise is appreciated

A few years ago I converted my 14" wood bandsaw to cut metal. I used a 3/4hp, 1750rpm, 90V DC motor to slow down the blade SFM. It has worked well on aluminum and thin steel up to about an 1/8". But the blade speed of about 500 SFM is too fast for anything thicker and wears out blade very quickly

I decided to upgrade it with a gear reducer

From Surplus Center I bought a right angle 50-1 gear reducer

Using a 5" pulley on the reducer and a 3" pully on the bandsaws 14" wheel I get my SFM down to 238 which should be right where I need it.

Problem is I now get belt slipping. No problem with torque. but the 3" pully slips badly. I do not have room to increase the size of the pulleys.

Therefore I want to go with chain drive and be done with it.