What's new
What's new

Lmu8 bearings and tolerances

LT72884

Plastic
I am new to this whole machining/building scene and have a question. I purchased some lmu8 linear bearings for 8mm hardend rod. I know 8mm is 0.314in and 5/16 is 0.312in. Since i do not know tolerances to much, would a 2-thousandths of an inch be to much of a difference for the bearings to run smooth?

Thanks

Sent from my SM-S367VL using Tapatalk

I am new to this whole machining/building scene and have a question. I purchased some lmu8 linear bearings for 8mm hardend rod. I know 8mm is 0.314in and 5/16 is 0.312in. Since i do not know tolerances to much, would a 2-thousandths of an inch be to much of a difference for the bearings to run smooth?

Thanks

Your an engineering student, I would ask your professors for help on
"tolerance to much"

If you don't get at least a semester in GD&T, demand your tuition back.

Your an engineering student, I would ask your professors for help on
"tolerance to much"

If you don't get at least a semester in GD&T, demand your tuition back.
Have not had any classes on this and im almost done with school. Doubt any of my professors know. Had a BASIC intro class to machine process but nothing on gd&t

Many things related to bearings have tolerances in the +/- .0002" range....

Can't say for sure what you've got won't work... But .002" is a MILE in bearing fits.

Well you probably had a basic intro to GD&T in CAD or drafting class, or similar, they just don't call it that specifically. I'm not surprised you didn't get a dedicated class. Regardless it wouldn't have helped you in this specific application.