What's new
What's new

Logan Model 200 tool post

Levister2121

Plastic
I am brand new to machining and recently purchased a logan model 200 lathe in okay condition. The lathe came with practically no tooling and the original latern style tool post. After looking into buying tooling to fit and contacting Logan Actuators I quickly realized I need to change my tool post. I have found tons of helpful information on what quick change tool post to buy but I am currently on a very tight budget and need to perform a boring operation with the lathe ASAP. I was wondering if there is a cheaper four position tool post that will fit my lathe properly and have more readily available tooling allowing me to perform some basic machining until I am ready to spend the money on a qctp. Alternatively if I can find a boring bar to fit the original tool post that could also be helpful for now. Thanks for your time!

You should be able to find a boring bar and boring bar toolholder for a lantern Toolpost, used, for a few dollars. Do a search for “Armstrong boring bar tool holder”
Good luck!

Don't waste time and money on a cobbled-up boring bar setup. Get on your computer and find a Chinese copy of an Aloris AXA toolpost. You can get a full set for a very reasonable cost. The same vendor will have boring bars to fit. Don't buy the piston type post, go for the wedge type. No need to bother with carbide insert tooling, your lathe will do best with 1/8" or 1/4" high speed steel bits. You might consider the tangential holder for your HSS, as they are easy to sharpen, and work very well. Good Luck. Regards, Clark

Sealarks reply is spot on. The axa wedge style is first choice but if out of your budget then get the piston style. Main difference is the wedge style has better repeatability.

In a pinch a standard boaring bar with a shank that will fit in the lantern tool post slot can be used with shims.

If you want to make something there are many plans and videos on square tool blocks.