What's new
What's new

Looking for a 1 Week Training Class to Improve Manual Machining Skills

cincicliff

Plastic
My wife and I would like to attend a 1 week class to learn old school tricks and tips for how to use a manual vertical mill and engine lathe “the right way”. We think this would make a fun vacation and can travel to where the class is offered. I am self-taught with 20 years of occasional hobby experience and my wife is starting out.

I have found a lot of 2 – 3 hour introductory classes at Maker Spaces and Semester long classes at Trade Schools. Our local Maker Space classes were great – we just would like to learn more techniques and maybe complete some projects. Does anyone know of an accelerated 1 week or several day class / seminar for manual machining?

Thanks
Cliff

The NRA has summer gunsmith schools.They are all over the country.I know that they have a machinists basic and advanced. I observed one at Trinidad State Junior College in Colorado when I was there.

My wife and I would like to attend a 1 week class to learn old school tricks and tips for how to use a manual vertical mill and engine lathe “the right way”. We think this would make a fun vacation and can travel to where the class is offered. I am self-taught with 20 years of occasional hobby experience and my wife is starting out.

I have found a lot of 2 – 3 hour introductory classes at Maker Spaces and Semester long classes at Trade Schools. Our local Maker Space classes were great – we just would like to learn more techniques and maybe complete some projects. Does anyone know of an accelerated 1 week or several day class / seminar for manual machining?

Thanks
Cliff

usually when hired for a machining job you get 1 to 2 months one on one training to learn machines, job setups, where stuff is and how company expects you to do stuff.