What's new
What's new

Looking for an Aluminum specific straight cutting oil

DanASM

Hot Rolled
I have been using Mobilmet 766 Mobilmet 766 for 30 years. It has been great for 300 Series Stainless when brand new. I usually send it over to the low carbon steel machines as it thins out.

Lately I have been running lots of AL and I caught the oil lines sputtering a few times towards the last 1'-2' of the bar stock.

I noticed mobil also sells this Mobilmet 423 Mobilmet 423.

I can get 5 gal pails of 766 for $115 each. I can only get the 423 by the drum (55 Gal) for $1050.

The 424 would be great for my 1215 jobs where the chips pile up like sand and soak up the oil.

The old timers trick is to add a little kerosene to the 766 to thin it out. I have never done this, but am not opposed to doing it. I just know its not 1978 anymore and my dad cant seem to figure that out.

Is there something else I should try? I dont want to buy a Drum when I only need at most 20 Gal (which would last a few years anyway). 25 years ago we bought a drum and it took over 10 years to drain. Was only $700 at the time.

Has to be straight oil. No Water Sob.

Though not a true "oil", Relton A-9 is really hard to beat for aluminum. It is the only fluid we use on aluminum and also works well with stainless in a pinch.

Though not a true "oil", Relton A-9 is really hard to beat for aluminum. It is the only fluid we use on aluminum and also works well with stainless in a pinch.

Looks like $370 for a 5 gal pail before shipping from MSC. $279 from Relton Direct minus shipping from CA.

Way too much money.

Looks like $370 for a 5 gal pail before shipping from MSC. $279 from Relton Direct minus shipping from CA.

Way too much money.

Yes, everything shipped in is gonna have high freight.
What about a local distributor ?
Shell, Mobil, Castrol ?

We have a local manuf (2 man operation) and he makes up anything you want, or would sell you what you need to thin your existing oil.