What's new
What's new

Looking for a mill

sigpros

Plastic
So Friday I will be closing on my new place. And I will finally have a shop. So I am looking for a knee mill. Are there any small type machines that run on 220? Something like Mill Rite size? Sorry but I’m new to this stuff and ran a Bridgeport at school and an Acer at work. I picked up a small lathe this week and have a line on a drill press and band saw. Like Johnny Cash said “One piece at a time”

So Friday I will be closing on my new place. And I will finally have a shop. So I am looking for a knee mill. Are there any small type machines that run on 220? Something like Mill Rite size? Sorry but I’m new to this stuff and ran a Bridgeport at school and an Acer at work. I picked up a small lathe this week and have a line on a drill press and band saw. Like Johnny Cash said “One piece at a time”

I think you meant to say "Single-phase 220-240"?

Not impossible. Just not likely. Nor, necessarily, even wanted.

You'll need to include an RPC (whole zoo) or one or several VFD (one animal at a time) in your plans so you have a source of 3-Phase 220-240 VAC.

If you liked the Acer, let that set a "size standard" and try for "condition, condition, condition" brand-name less important.

BirdPorts are popular enough they are USUALLY over-priced for sad condition.

OTOH, everybody and his Auntie can get parts and helpful guidance or actual services to rebuild a BirdPort. Not a lot of mystery to them.

I wouldn't worry about "close to me", either. Small verticals are not hard to haul. PM has MANY threads with how other folks rigged and transported mills, what was hard or easy.

There are single phase 220v mills out there, if you are lucky you might even find one! Small and single phase is a high demand market with little selection, you would be better off shopping for a full size machine with 3 phase 220v motor, and either get a vfd or rotary phase converter to run it.