What's new
What's new

Looking for a Preis Panto-Engraver 1/8” collet

Heavy44

Plastic
If anyone knows where I can find one of these or could make one for me please let me know. Thanks

I have never owned a Preis engraver, though I do have some of their type cases and some other engravers.

What does a Preis collet look like? If you have one with the wrong bore, show a picture of it.

If you have a 1/4" collet, 1/4 to 1/8 reducing sleeves are easy to find.

Larry

I have a 3/16” collet. Could I use a reducer for that? I left a career in sales, thanks to covid, and am starting school for machining in August, so I’m pretty new to this stuff hah. Thank you for the reply. Not seeing how to post a picture but will if I figure it out.

You may have found out that 3/16" is not a popular size for engraving cutters. You probably did find lots of cheap Chinese 1/8" solid carbide cutters on eBay. I have bought some and am happy with them, from any of the sellers I used. My big Green engraver uses Universal brand type OW collets that are made in sizes from 1/4" down and I have 1/4" and 1/8"cutters and a number of different size collets. I have added a picture of three OW collets, 1/8", 3/16" and 1/4".

For some jobs, end mills can be useful in an engraving machine and 3/16" is a very common size for HSS end mills, so you may find that collet is a good size to have. I have used them to make wide cuts in thin stock, because the standard V-shape cutters are not always a good choice for that kind of work.