What's new
What's new

Looking to purchase a new lathe (not used).

UserManuel

Plastic
Hey guys,

I've been lurking on here for the past couple of weeks and finally decided that it'd be best for me to outright ask those who know more than I.

To preface; I work in aviation. I have about 2 years experience as a manual lathe operator working on aviation bushings. After that gig, I would turn down the occasional tool, bushing, and component as necessary. I've used Kent, Grizzly, and JET lathes. I will be the primary operator of this lathe.

Specifically, I need a quality machine with good aftermarket support. The JET we have now is for a lack of better words, a POS. Whoever ran it before me did a number on it. Considering the new venture my company is embarking on, we'll need a larger lathe with greater precision that the JET. I'll be fitting bushings and sleeves to cylindrical components and will have to turn the OD's post installation. My tolerance on said bushings are .0015 between the two mating surfaces.

JET has terrible customer support considering they source their machines from wherever they can. The KENT was the best machine I've worked on, but I've read about the poor customer support here on practical machinist, not sure how true that is.

We would need something around 17x40, good customer service with a reasonable parts availability, and I would assume some kind of warranty for 2 years +. Needs to have a DRO, tailstock, and a 4-6 (self-centering) jaw chuck option.

Used is not an option, the business owner wants something new. Sub 30k would be ideal but I'm open to suggestions north of that to include in my proposal.

I've looked at the new LaBlond's and I can't find an assessment of where they are made and the quality they provide anywhere.
Kent is still a contender.
Monarch looks like a rebrand of Weiler.
Summit?

USA made is preferred, but not necessary. I think I read that SM is now owned by a US company but manufactured in Taiwan?