What's new
What's new

Looking For a Small 4 Jaw Chuck With 5C Mount

projectnut

Stainless
I have to make a number of different profile small parts for a prototype project. Some will have an OD of .187" or less. I was thinking of purchasing a 4 jaw independent lathe chuck in the 3" or 4" diameter with a 5C mount to hold the parts. I've seen dozens of them ranging in price from under $50.00 to well over $200.00. Some have a reasonable written description, but I have no experience with chucks of this size, and would like to avoid buying a piece of junk.

I'm looking for something of relatively good quality that won't cost a fortune since this may be the only job it ever gets. So far all those I've investigated have a minimum outside jaw grip range in the .200" range. I did see a couple that went down to .160" but they were of questionable quality. Is anyone aware of a reasonable quality chuck that will accomplish what I'm trying to do?

Just curious, have you considered a collet chuck?

I do have a full set of 5C collets and chucks for both my lathes. Several of the parts needing to be turned will need to be offset from center to create cams. That's why I'm interested in the possibility of finding and using an independent 4 jaw chuck. I suppose I could create a fixture fo the parts and use a chuck with a larger grip range. I'm just trying to simplify the operations.

I have both a 3 jaw scroll chuck and a 4 jaw independent with changeable jaws with a 5C back plate. They are super useful. I use them on a cheap spin indexer to mill features on my BP clone. I picked them up during a trade fair in Shanghai in 2005. They are much faster to set up for one off jobs than my 8" super spacer. I also have another chuck set with R8 back plates. They work well holding bi-metal hole saws.

Off set parts