What's new
What's new

Loose pulley on motor shaft.

jklawton

Plastic
Is there any reasonable way to secure a pulley on a keyed shaft where both have been worn leaving a largest gap of about 0.035 inches. This is an old Powermatic table saw, 2 Hp motor and 3-belt sheave. The cast iron sheave is worn more than the motor shaft but is not available as a replacement part. I am currently considering turning down the motor shaft enough to get a consistent diameter (max wear is ~0.015"), then converting to a poly-V belt drive with new pulleys on the motor and arbor. New motor pulley will have to be purchased unbored or bored out to match reduced motor shaft. I suspect that this is the best option, but wondered if there was some other reasonable option that I am not aware of being a mostly self-taught home shop machinist. I was even thinking about something like pouring low-melting temp metal or Stycast in the gap. Would this be long-lasting and strong enough. How would one ensure concentricity...
I bought this saw new in 1977 and this is the first trouble I've had with it so can't complain too much. Thanks for any discussion. Jim

Pull the motor rotor and turn down to a consistent size....bore and bush the pulley down to the motor shaft size.
Obviously scotch key the bush ( bush being a press fit to pulley) to the pulley and rekey the internal to suit the motor shaft.
put two grubscrews in it one over the key and one at 90 degrees to the key that should stop it coming loose again when you tighten them.

The best option is to make a new motor shaft and bring back to the nominal size but may not be needed. later if something happens you have all good sizes but its going one step further and has added expense.
Welding up the shaft is not advisable as it can crack in the heat effected zone...