What's new
What's new

Machining fiberglass tubes

HetNeedsHelp

Plastic
Hello, I have very little experience in machining, mostly aluminum and wood.

My team is making a ground mount for an antenna on a tall building for which we are using fiberglass tubes. We want to make a telescopic mount using 3 similarly sized fiberglass tubes (1.5in OD, .25in thick).

So my question is;
1) what is the best way to turn a fiberglass tube on a lathe to shave off some mm in thickness?
2) we also need to drill some holes into the tube, any tips?

I have 0 experience with fiberglass machining as I said, so any tips are appreciated.

Thank you.

If you are mounting something on a tall building, it MUST be safe from causing injury if it comes loose and falls off due to wind or earthquakes. Are you adding secondary arresting elements, like steel cables as safeties?

Composite tubes like fiberglass or carbon will lose strength when they're turned, especially if experiencing a bending load. If at all possible when using composite tubes in a mechanical structure, adapt the other elements (sockets, etc.) to fit the stock tubes. Holes, when not too large, are less of an issue but still create noticeable weak areas in the walls of the tubes.

Please tell us more about how you're designing these mounts.

Last edited:
Hi, we are a university student team, however we are working with a professional structural engineer to ensure we take all safety measures into consideration.
Annotation 2020-07-30 160354.jpg
That is our current design fro the antenna mount, however the big rod mast will be converted into a telescopic mast.

PIPEITDOWN.jpg
Like this, most likely going with the 3in option. To make sure the tubes fit into each other smoothly, we just need to turn it down about 1 mm. Another option is to just sand a little bit of the length that will be sticking into another tube down by 1 mm.