What's new
What's new

Machining With Files/Hand Tools

Euclidean

Aluminum
Hello! I'm interested in getting into metalwork but I do not have access to a mill nor will I for the foreseeable future.

I was told that a lot of machining can be done with files and drills. So naturally I have a few questions:

1. Is there a book or resource out there that explains how this works? How does someone starting without any experience learn how to do this?

2. What are the largest projects that someone could make with files and and other hand tools?

3. How accurate can someone with a file be?

My background is in woodworking and wood carving.

. . .2. What are the largest projects that someone could make with files and and other hand tools? . . . 3. How accurate can someone with a file be? . . .

First, welcome to the forum and to metalworking. Whatever you learn using hand tools will be of benefit when you acquire machine tools.

With hand tools, size depends on your patience level and stamina!
In the mid 70's, when I was in A&P school there was a class known as 'materials and processes'. We 'lovingly' called it filing 150. As for accuracy, the instructor would rough-saw a chunk of steel and we had to file it to within .001" of specified dimension and squareness. So again, its a matter of patience and perseverance.

Working steels by hand takes a lot of time and elbow grease. You may want to start using aluminum and brass, both are fun to work but both are typically more expensive than steel.

First, welcome to the forum and to metalworking. Whatever you learn using hand tools will be of benefit when you acquire machine tools.

With hand tools, size depends on your patience level and stamina!