What's new
What's new

Machining instructors and seasoned machinists input on text please.

9finger

Aluminum
I'm a machining instructor at a college, in addition to many other subjects, and a perpetual student (Never really quit taking classes over the last 15 years). The price of text books is outrageous, to the point where I refuse to make student's buy them, aside from the machinist's handbook. We are talking $500+ for USED books, multiplied by a lot of classes, it adds up to an unfair burden in my opinion. My initial solution was to use "How to Run a Lathe", but a small portion of the info is outdated, it is pretty inclusive to lathes, and there have been so many advancements in the field since then.
So, my next solution was to buy 13 other machining text books, add my experience, and (no plagiarizing) write an all inclusive text book that takes the student from intro through CNC. It's been several years in the making and I am almost done. The following is the favor I ask, and some reasoning:

1.) Are there any instructors out there that would be willing to proofread, offer up additional information to add to my material, recommend removal if necessary, etc.? I would not limit this to just other instructors, as I have a knack for teaching and can acknowledge there are soooo many machinists that are either just plain better than me, have different fields of expertise, more experience, or all the above. Credit would be given to any participants. I would like it continuously peer-reviewed to insure that it's accurate mainly, but also as inclusive as possible. I also notice a trend in books now that have massive amounts of filler material and huge words to make it sound more professional (and cost more), when things could be stated much more simply. I want to avoid that.