What's new
What's new

Machining pipe bevel

CesarPal

Plastic
Hello I have no experience in machining I'm hoping y'all can get me started. I want to bevel pipe to practice tig welding on. It will be 2 inch sch 40 and sch 80. I have no tools yet. I'm looking to get the 7 in. x 10 in. Precision Benchtop Mini Lathe from harbor freight it runs around 560 but will be less with the 20 percent off coupons. Could y'all please tell me what tools I will need to buy to be able to bevel a 37.5 degree bevel and what the steps would be. There isn't much videos online.

Mini Lathe - 7" x 1" Precision Mini Lathe

Harbor freight also sells lots of different lathe tools but no idea how to use them or if I'll need all of them. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Lathe tools

This is the link to all the tools harbor freight has for lathes mostly on bottom of first page and the rest on the second page

While the TOS prohibits discussion of so-called "hobby machines" I submit we allow this one instance. The OP is working to improve his welding competency and desires a small lathe to weld prep his practice material.

Most any small lathe will do the job you propose and much more in the same size range and smaller. You can get by with a parting tool and a hand-ground turning tool like this

HSS lathe tool sketch - Google Search

The South Bend basic lathe manual "How to Run a Lathe" is a valuable resource for a beginner lathe hand. Here is a PDF:

http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/1617/3789.pdf

Eventually, depending on the equipment furnished with your new lathe, you will need some additional items. Make a list as you go, think about where and when you shop, set a budget etc, strike up acquaintanceship with old machinists who may have a soft spot for mentoring etc. OIW build a support structure.