What's new
What's new

Machining Titanium and Inconel Sheet for Weld Prep

cjarnutowski

Plastic
Hi All,
I'm not a machinist by trade, so I'm hoping I can draw on someone's wisdom here.

I'm tasked with finding a way to prepare the sheared edges of titanium (CP, 6Al-4V, 15-3-3-3) and Inconel (718, 625) sheet metal tubing blanks to be welded (automated GTAW). We currently spend ~10,000 hours annually manually filing the edges of these blanks, with inconsistent results. The primary requirements are straightness and surface finish on the edge.

These sheets are .020-.080 thick, and the depth of cut we would require is on the order of .002-.004. Is it possible, with some combination of tool geometry, tool material/coating, speeds, feeds, etc. to achieve decent tool wear under these conditions? My understanding is that such lights cuts on nickel alloys will burn up cutters in no time.

Thanks for the help!
Chris

Are you cutting a step or beveling the edges? If you just need a bevel it could be done with a water jet with a tilting head. If the sheets are small this could be done with a surface grinder. Be much more detailed and include pictures and we'll all be more than happy to armchair enjineer any number of solutions for your problem.

Tell us a little more about exactly what you are doing. Are you rolling sheet metal to make tubing? Are you shearing the sheet metal to size and the shear cut isn't straight?

TeachMePlease,
The sheets are just about any size that would fit in a 4'x10' envelope (big or small).

KingBob,
These sheets are never beveled, the purpose of this preparation is to remove the shear-tear and achieve a flat, straight, square edge which has a surface finish that allows us to thoroughly clean it.

gbent,
These are flat blanks that will be rolled or brakeformed into tubes and cones (later to be hydroformed). The preparation I'm talking about will be performed while the blanks are flat.