What's new
What's new

Machining Tungsten Carbide - advice needed!

Sethur

Plastic
Hi

I'm new to the forum, I've a fair bit of mechanical experience but ultimately I'm not a professional.
I'm seeking some advice on machining Tungsten Carbide, i've looked across other threads on the forum and found a few useful pieces of information, but i'd just like some clarification.

I'm trying to turn a ring from a 20mm TC rod, using a basic lathe at work, i've a number of indexable lathe tools and a few PCD inserts for these tools.
I'd managed to turn the outside of the work and put a small radius on the work using a ball turner while practicing but i'm now at a point where i'd like to really refine the process and make the final piece.

The problem:
I need to bore the work out, I have been under the assumption that for best results i'll need to find a PCD coated drill bit, my intention is to drill a 10mm hole just large enough to get my boring bar in and work from there.
The 10mm PCD drill bits that my local supplier sells are around £100, i've befriended a guy at the supplier who has been helpful, he holds very little confidence in the drill bits working, says they're very hit and miss with TC, doesn't even want to risk selling me it!

Really i'd like some advice to perhaps make me feel slightly more confident about spending that much on a drill bit that may or may not work. (The drill bit is a YG - DI7430.)

Also any advice regarding TC would be brilliant (lathe speeds, lubricants, cut depth, feed rates, the lot).
Cheers,
S

You need diamond coring drills, like these: 12 Pcs Diamond Hole Saw Drill Bit Hollow Core Set Glass Extractor Remover Tools 6188843 | eBay Yes, they're cheap junk, and you'll need multiples of the right size to work, but they're vastly more sensible than a PCD tipped drill.