What's new
What's new

Magnetic parallels for surface grinder

Matt Matt

Cast Iron
I’m wondering if anybody else has made a set of these before? And how efficient are they?

About 25 years ago I made a set, but I never got to use them. The grinding hand got me to make them when I was a apprentice. The grinding hand used them about once a month, that I saw.

I have a 30 pole magnet on my surface grinder.

I was thinking of making them from 4140 annealed and leaving them soft. About 2 1/4” tall.

I do have an 18 inch magnet with 23 inches of stroke. I figure the longer they are, the more powerful they will be.

I do have a custom job that needs custom height. Initially I am thinking of making them 10 inches long and maybe in the future making some 24 inches long.

I have a set made by Fisher machine shop, and yes they do discernibly weaken the magnetic field when a piece is placed above. one reason that certainly contributes is that the plates are not equivalently spaced, so like a vernier some of the lines line up and some don't. For the set you intend to make you may as well make the plates equally thick so they can be aligned perfectly to maximize the field strength.

I would be cautious about use of 4140, it has a high carbon content and chromium like austenitic stainless steel it may make for a weaker transfer of a magnetic field. Here is a chart of magnetic permeability. Mild steel may be a better choice, if anything it is cheaper.
2�181115_231326.jpg - Google Drive
view

Permeability

Thanks Alex. My thought on 4140 was I have a little bit of sitting around the shop. My thought was on mild steel (which I have a lot of it sitting around the shop, is just possible damage. I have a lot of offcuts from die punch holders that I build. I do realize the chromium content in 4140 is a little bit problematic. But I’m trying to find the best of both worlds).