What's new
What's new

Making magnetic transfer blocks

MichaelP

Titanium
I wonder if anybody wants to share experience on making magnetic transfer v-blocks and parallels. In particular, I'm interested in those with ferrous metal pins (vs. laminated), so that they can be placed on the chuck at any angle.

Is it just a simple drill, ream and press fit type of deal? What's the best steel to use for the pins (magnetic quality wise yet easy to handle)? How to choose the most efficient diameter and number/concentration of the pins to increase the hold? Would you prefer bronse, brass or aluminum for the body and why?

Any thoughts, tips and technics (including those on best manual machining approaches to cut accurate Vs) would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Mike

I'm not an expert, but have made them successfully in the past. What I made were rectangular blocks, laminated from mild steel and aluminium strips, not for any reason, thats the material we had. The laminations were held together with aluminium rods, riveted over into a countersink on the first and last laminations, which were steel. I did not spend too much time accurately machining the holes for the pins, they were a loose fit. Once the assembled block is ground the pins are just to hold it all together. All the same I was surprised how firm the stack was just from peining over the aluminium pins into the countersink.

For the ones with pins you will want to use a brass body and then mild steel pins. We make these often. This configuration for us transfers the magnetism the best. You get knurled pins and then just press them in. Depending how big you want to go I have the pins in stock.

But for a Vee block I don't see what you can't make them like they normally are with a mild body and then brass laminations. I believe these are brazed together just like magnetic chuck top plates.