What's new
What's new

Making a male & female thread in Aluminium.

matyp

Plastic
Hi,

I'm new to machining and just got myself a lathe. I am trying to internally thread some 50x4mm aluminium pipe and make an end cap to suit.

I have made a few but they are always too tight and I have to go back and cut the threads deeper and skim some of the top of the threads to make it fit together.

Would someone mind going through the exact process on how they would machine both parts (cutting depths etc...)

Thank you in advance.

Would someone mind going through the exact process on how they would machine both parts (cutting depths etc...)

It would be better to have a drawing with all dimensions.

Then look at the Machinery Handbook for things like class-of-fit.

For me, I always make the female side first. Then I use the female part as a gauge when making the male thread. You could go either way but I find it easier
to examine the exposed male threads.

With aluminium I use some anti-seize compound.

Thank you in advance.
Yes, we would.

Try cracking a book first, do some test cuts, and then ask here for help solving a problem your having.

You want someone to write you a personalized essay just for you ?

Your profile says "IT" so why not explain how the internet works, just for me ?
And don't leave anything out, cite your sources too.

In addition to the above, some corrosion-resistant aluminum pipe is made of aluminum grades with relatively poor machinability. If you're tearing up the threads, then finding them galling (Al on Al), making a looser fit really isn't the answer.

Also, shocking news to some posters above. Aluminum is often alloyed with trans elements. Right smack dab in the middle of the Periodic Table. Who knew?

If you're new to machining then practicing with aluminium is what I would do. If you can work some practice into making something useful. That is the goal.