What's new
What's new

Making my own handwheel collet closer - material question

Kevin T

Stainless
I want a 5C collet closer for my 1941 16" lathe and it looks like a great project for me. I bought a prefab threaded tube and am planning on finishing it off myself by turning a shoulder and a handle. I am not very experienced with my lathe yet I just got it going recently but I am even more green when it comes to material selection.

Does anyone have recomendations for me on a relatively free machining material (semi rust resistant) that would be good as the indexing shoulder of the assembly? So far I have only dabbled with a couple operations w/cast material.

12L14 rusts just looking at it! I used plain old 1018 mild steel when I made closer's for both of my lathes. Bought thrust bearing and washers from McM/C ,also made my own draw tube out of DOM tube.

12L14 rusts just looking at it! I used plain old 1018 mild steel when I made closer's for both of my lathes. Bought thrust bearing and washers from McM/C ,also made my own draw tube out of DOM tube.

Same here. Scrap yard tube, Whatever was laying around for the shoulder, hand wheel a 1/4" aluminum disc with an oak outer edge riveted on with brass rivets. No thrust bearing just a bit of moly grease now and then.
Works very well and has lasted a long time. Cost...Zilch........Bob

Off cut / drop box for the tube, scrapped Alu wheel ''thingy'' from a customers scrap skip, Loctited assembly with a nylon washer.

Same here. Scrap yard tube, Whatever was laying around for the shoulder, hand wheel a 1/4" aluminum disc with an oak outer edge riveted on with brass rivets. No thrust bearing just a bit of moly grease now and then.
Works very well and has lasted a long time. Cost...Zilch........Bob

Nice, I am thinking about a wood outer also. I havent seen a thrust as part of the stock ones for sale for my era lathe.

I saw this one that I liked.

collet wheel 3.jpg

collet wheel.jpg

collet wheel 2.jpg