What's new
What's new

Manual Lathe - Parting Threads

Brian.M

Plastic
Relatively new to machining and 100% self taught, P.M. has been a wealth of knowledge for me so far, so I thought I would ask the experts.

I frequently need to cut parts to length, cutting off the length off the threads. Is there a proper tool or method to cut off the threads and clean up the end? I usually use a parting tool to length then change tools and put a 60 angle on the end and hope I don't have to chase the threads with a die after. There has to be a better way. Any help/advice would be appreciated.

I plunge a 60° tool down the thread flank rolling the burr toward the cuttoff side, once at the minor diameter I turn a flat spot large enough for my parting tool to fit then part it off. If you plunge the parting tool into the threads sometimes it will catch and rip the insert out and mess up the blade.

Relatively new to machining and 100% self taught, P.M. has been a wealth of knowledge for me so far, so I thought I would ask the experts.

I frequently need to cut parts to length, cutting off the length off the threads. Is there a proper tool or method to cut off the threads and clean up the end? I usually use a parting tool to length then change tools and put a 60 angle on the end and hope I don't have to chase the threads with a die after. There has to be a better way. Any help/advice would be appreciated.

post #2 is good, but you can gang tools together, see attached:
Note, this set-up was facing to length, and nicking in the chamfers on both ends of a simple bushing.

So you could set both the cut-off and a chamfering tool together for your job,
if you don't need to use the method in post #2.

Attachments

• GEDC0384.jpg
    GEDC0384.jpg
    99.5 KB · Views: 465