What's new
What's new

Measuring small angles

Sendit

Aluminum
What’s other ways to measure a small angles beside optical comparator and pins?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What’s other ways to measure a small angles beside optical comparator and pins?

part on rotary table zero one edge, rotate til 2nd edge is aligned. read rotary table digital readout ?? horizontal cnc the rotary table often reads .001 degrees

Sine bar set to the nominal angle, flip part around and adjust gage blocks so part top reads zero with a test indicator. Check the block stack height, calculate angle. About as accurate as you're going to get.

CMM (more words)

If I had one. I’m just starting out and buying tooling as I need it.

The serrations I’m trying to duplicate.
36ede299083a8ad168387c6424d42c61.jpg

Lay the slide on a surface plate. Lay a heavy parallel against it so when you slide it it moves in a straight lie. Set up a dial indicator with a needle point against the serration. Move the slide a known distance and note the change in indicator reading. The change in indicator reading divided by the distance the slide is moved is the tangent of the angle.

A hand held protractor can easily get 1/2 degree with a light behind the object.
A depth micrometer can often get .001 and sometimes better from one side of an object..and check a depth.
A caliper can check an Id, Od and size but sometimes is not so good checking off one side because it is /can be difficult to hole it exactly square to a part..

There are standard serrations. Some times one can look them up..
Some times on can make a feeler to fit in a part and then have a longer angle to check from..If it is straight on one side that can help..perhaps grinding a feeler and angle gauge to fit. bench grinder with attaching a bar to the table..then knock, knock the bar to change the angle by tiny moves...to get a no light fit and then check with a protractor..or like said above trig out the angle by measuring.