Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New Jersey
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Metal Spinning a Skillet

I run a small blacksmith shop, and am looking into spinning skillets/frying pans. I was curious what size lathe, and if I could convert a wood lathe, in order to make frying pans from 12 gauge discs? Don't wanna invest in a lathe only to find I won't be able to spin my intended items with it.

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Spinning there be more to that than meets the eye. I am by no means an expert, I've toyed with it just enough to know that I don't know what I don't know. And what I know is just enought to limp by.

But having said that I've watched a couple of guys on youtube fail miserabally.

What you need to know is that you are not simply bending metal, you are causing it to flow. And as such you can thin the metal out or gather it up as you form. Know what you want and then work that direction.

As for a wood lathe, yes if it's old school gnarly, with big robust bearings. Me personally "on the cheap" I'd find someting like an old Logan 2500 where the bed has seen better days and double up on the spindle bearings, which you could do on those lathes without too much fuss by sacrficing a spacer. The bearings were preloaded by a belville washer so you had a little wiggle room to work with.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

You generally don't need bed length in a spinning lathe as most of the work is done close to the headstock. There is a lot of force applied and usually a big swing, so large bearings are best. There is a bunch of ideas here: Lathes modified for metal spinning by James P. Riser
    This is what a real one looks like: Manual metal spinning lathes for sale with mandrels, molds and tools in USA Pennsylvania, Mexico