A micro fabrication job - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I recently had an email conversation with Marcus enquiring about a small-scale wire edm job. I came away from it wiser and better educated as a result of his patient analysis, negative though it was, of what I proposed. The injector job that is the subject of his present thread reinforces the high opinion I formed of the quality of his work. It is work that deserves to be billed accordingly, as most have indicated above.

-Marty-
    Last edited by Marty Feldman; 10-28-2019 at 11:00 AM.

Country
    CANADA
    State/Province
    Ontario
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I have to echo what others have said and say beautiful work.

I'm a fairly experienced TIG welder but have no experience micro welding. Even still with the required tolerances, not to mention the PITA factor, I would have no problem charging ~$300 loonies per piece. Don't feel bad for charging $125, in fact, your customer should be on their knees thanking you! I bet these little junks end up selling for $1k each to the end user.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Florida
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Rapid_Tech View Post
    I have to echo what others have said and say beautiful work.

I'm a fairly experienced TIG welder but have no experience micro welding. Even still with the required tolerances, not to mention the PITA factor, I would have no problem charging ~$300 loonies per piece. Don't feel bad for charging $125, in fact, your customer should be on their knees thanking you! I bet these little junks end up selling for $1k each to the end user.
    I looked up a part similar to what we make day in/out (nothing like OP's part, just a similar story about pricing) and was shocked to see the list price was just over 1k$ !!