What's new
What's new

Milling aluminium - Strategy to minimize warp/spring

tom_R2E3

Plastic
Let me know if this is posted in the wrong place and I'll move it. I'm a hobby machinist with an older 3 axis CNC mill converted to Linuxcnc. I've made quite a few parts successfully over the past few years, but still lack experience.

This project is a turbo inlet plenum for my project car. It's by far the biggest, highest material cost, thinnest wall component(s) I have attempted so far, so I thought I'd ask for some advice before I turn these billets in to scrap.

iso-assembled.jpg

Overall part length is 450mm and I'll machine the two halves from two AL 7050 plates starting at 65mm thickness. Part wall thickness varies but I've gone down to 2.75mm in places and I'm worried this thing is going to warp/spring. There's a perimeter of M6 screws which will hold the two halves together. A 2mm O ring chord seals the two halves together.

I'll describe the dark grey part, but they are both pretty similar:
I was planning to try and do the inside and outside faces in two ops, then machine the four holes in the inlet flange later with the two finished halves screwed together

OP1:
Stock screwed to a 25mm plate which is then clamped down.
Hog out all the internal material
finish all the internal faces
Drill / mill inlet port holes
drill and tap the perimeter holes
Drill and ream the two 4mm dowel holes
Mill O-ring groove.

Op1.jpg

Op2:
Part now flipped and screwed to the 25mm base plate using the perimeter of bolt holes. Positioned on two 4mm dowels
Rough out and finish all external surfaces
Finish 4 inlet ports
Mill 4 O ring grooves.

Op2.jpg

Question is, how much do you think this thing is going to spring when I unscrew it?

Spring.jpg

I could try:
Op1: Rough out inside faces then Drill and tap perimeter holes
Op2: flip part, rough and finish all external faces
Op3 flip part back again and finish machine internal faces.