What's new
What's new

Milling End of DOM Tubing

Johnnygrant

Plastic
Hey guys/gals! I am very new to milling/machining. I would like to know the best way to mill the ends of some DOM tubing. I am making bushing housings for some leaf spring shackles and they need to be exactly 2.5" wide. The DOM tubing is 1.5" x .25" wall.

I have a JET mill/drill. Should I use the tip or side of the end mill to remove excess material off the end of the 2.5" piece of tubing? Also, should I place the tubing vertical or horizontal in the vise? Just looking for the best technique.

Hey guys/gals! I am very new to milling/machining. I would like to know the best way to mill the ends of some DOM tubing. I am making bushing housings for some leaf spring shackles and they need to be exactly 2.5" wide. The DOM tubing is 1.5" x .25" wall.

I have a JET mill/drill. Should I use the tip or side of the end mill to remove excess material off the end of the 2.5" piece of tubing? Also, should I place the tubing vertical or horizontal in the vise? Just looking for the best technique.

Why not chuck it in the lathe ?

"exactly 2.5" wide" so your tolerance is +/- .125 ?

Belt sander time.....

Hello, Johnny. If you're just trying to adjust the length, a lathe would be 1st choice if you have one. Holding a round piece vertically in a vise requires at least one V-block, otherwise it's sure to shift during the cut and that usually trashes your endmill. Gripping the part horizontally and side-milling the ends is much safer assuming your vise has deep enough jaws to reach at least to the halfway point on the tube. Again, if you have a lathe it will be a lot faster.