What's new
What's new

Which milling machine do I buy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tariq

Plastic
Hi everybody.

I'm new here and this is my very first post. It's also a new hobby that I'm just getting into and have no past experience in machining apart from the information I picked up from Youtube and reading what other generous people share on forums.

I bought an old, used lathe (Praktikant 140) which I haven't got to use yet as I'm still waiting on the tool post and holders to arrive from Pewetools.

I wanted to buy a medium sized bench top milling machine but I can't source this locally (Riyadh, Saudi Arabia). So I went on the net and found a couple of machines from China which seem to be viable options.

I need this machine to perform well in a wider variety of materials; steel, aluminum, etc. I also don't want it to be too small that it would limit the size of materials that I can use it for.

I know that this is just for a hobby and no production work is expected at the moment but since there aren't any local sources available to me if I wanted to upgrade in the future, I'm leaning towards options that will give me more room to grow with less restrictions.

These are the two machines I'm looking at BT32V and ZAY7045V/1:

Taladro Fresador BT32V Auto Vertical Drilling Milling Machine
Zay7045v/1 Variable Speed Manual Milling Machine With Auto-feeding Function - Buy Manual Milling Machine,Milling,Milling Machine Product on Alibaba.com

The second one can be upgraded to a 2.2kw motor.

So what do you think? Which of the two should I get and why?

Thanks in advance.