What's new
What's new

Milling Machine Part Identification!

Sklontz

Plastic
Mill Head Front Far.jpgMill Head Front Close.jpgMill Head Rear Close.jpg
Hey guys, new to the forum as i am a hobbyist. I have a Bridgeport mill with what seems to be an import Variable speed head, I finally got it wired but now i have the issue of a missing spring on what im assuming is a sheave setup with a spring. Would somebody be able to point me in the direction of the correct part i need to get the spindle rotating? at the moment i have no tension on the belt because of the missing pieces.

Thank you in advance.
Pictures are attached, information greatly appreciated. Hobbyist

There is plenty of Bridgeport stuff online ..schematics,instructions,parts books etc ....I d start wit a parts PDF for your particular setup........you ll also discover they aint as simple as they look from the outside.

There is plenty of Bridgeport stuff online ..schematics,instructions,parts books etc ....I d start wit a parts PDF for your particular setup........you ll also discover they aint as simple as they look from the outside.

Well, I have mainly found the type of part i need, i need to know what brand this specific head is to make sure that a bridgeport variable speed head part will actually work for it. on the bridgeport it appears that the sheave shaft has a flat on it for mounting while on the import motor it does not look like the shaft has a flat.

It looks like you need the Varidisc spring. I would bet that one for a B"port would work. Maybe H&W will chime in to confirm.

It looks like you need the Varidisc spring. I would bet that one for a B"port would work. Maybe H&W will chime in to confirm.

My biggest concern is that the bridgeport varidisc part seems to have a flat spot reserved to keep it located on the motor shaft while my motor shaft does not have a flat as best i can tell.

Are you perhaps talking about a keyway? It would make no difference if all you needed was the spring.