What's new
What's new

Minimum quantity lubrication - MQL

hrchrc

Plastic
Hello! So, I'm not an engineer, unfortunately, so I have fairly limited technical knowledge, as a disclaimer.

I've been doing research into MQL, and am trying to get a sense of why its adoption rate is fairly low (at least in the US). I've been reading a bunch of materials and even research studies into MQL and its benefits and effects on various materials, but a lot of it seems like marketing collateral (UNIST's MQL Handbook, for one). I've come across studies of it being integrated into Ford and VW's manufacturing floors, but maybe that's just in Europe.

Have you, or do you know of any shop that has adopted MQL into their processes?

Or anyone who has looked into MQL but ultimately chose not to use it? Or I guess, can anyone hazard a guess as to why that would be the case? Is the stereotypical "old school" nature of the industry preventing adoption of these new tech? Is it because materials aren't compatible? Initial costs? Lack of awareness of the technology itself, as well as its benefits? Or they simply don't want or need it? All of it?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Ok, what is spam then? I'm not selling anything - I associate that with spam, but I guess anything can be considered it these days.

Or, spam is just spam, i.e., meat in a can.

By my understanding of it, "Minimum Quantity Lubrication" is essentially just mist coolant and air blast instead of traditional flood. It IS in widespread use already, but I don't see how or why it would take over all coolant needs. Both systems have strengths and draw-backs.