What's new
What's new

modern day 13-14" Taiwanese lathes.

Cleancut

Aluminum
Hi guys,

I'm running an old south-bend , and I have simply outgrown it for many reasons.

i'm looking to step up my game, and I dont really want to deal with a used machine unless it was in really nice shape which in my area is impossible to find.

How is the quality of these new 13x36 or 14x40 asain lathes? are they mostly Chinese or still Taiwanese? the particular brand is called "MODERN"

MODERN C0636A x 1000 (1440) Lathe << Modern Tool BC Ltd.

about $7400 CAD in my area.

Taiwanese production are typically 30/50% more cost than Chinese,and the importer/vendors always point out Taiwan origin.I have no experience or knowlege of the machine you state,and that is likely an importers tag for a standard form of machine...........personally,I would not buy any machine that I did not closely inspect prior to taking delivery........you dont buy a new ship without a thorough inspection,so why a lathe.

Barf. Sorry, I think your SB will outwork that POS. 2 hp?

A decent 13" lathe needs 5 hp and a decent 15" needs 7-1/2.

Try to have a look at Grizzly/Southbend 14x40 - a number of people, including me, have them and speak well of them.
(They have a warehouse/showroom in Bellingham - not so far from BC - but I have no idea if they have direct distribution in BC or if you have to go through some import process.)

Aren't all of these lathes coming out of the same hole in the wall? All the designs look basically the same.

I was told that they are made by people that don't care , and sold by people that don't care.....but seriously anything has to be better then a 99% worn out SB.

Don't do it! Look around, I'm sure you can find something that's in great shape for that kind of money including shipping.

Or plan a road trip, I drove 1000 km each way to get my Emco S11 and am very happy I did!