What's new
What's new

Moog MHP machines Good value or best avoided?

GD Engineering

Plastic
I've never used one of these machines before although I have heard of the company as their UK aircraft facility is in the next town to where I grew up.

Ive seen a few of these machines on eBay within my local area and have been quite tempted by the asking prices, but also surprised by the lack of uptake.

I'm aware that large groups of people don't often get things that wrong, but are they missing out on cheap CNC machine centers?

Ive done a bit of digging today and I see that they're Bridgeport based and everyone seems to hate them, but can't find any reason why. Early machines seem to use some sort of hydraulic or hydro-pneumatic control system and later machines seemed to use ballscrews. Without inspecting a machine is there any way to tell?

Presumably a ball-screw equipped machine wouldn't be a major issue to fit a modern control to.

Does anyone actually have any hands on knowledge of these either as an operator or in maintenance?

Any info would be much appreciated.

I don't have any experience with these machines, but I do have a hefty operator & maintenance manual for Moog Hydra-Point dated 1975 if that could be of use to someone. In a cursory glance through it I find no mention of ballscrews, at least for this model/type.

I have no personal experience using one, but rather have a friend whose company bought one (used) in the 80's and my friend was in the position of needing to make it work for purposes of production. I suspect it was the above mentioned Hydra-Point configuration, based on the "era" and his description of it as air-over-hydraulic control/actuation.

In any case, I was frequently regaled with stories starting with "Do you know what that $&^*! machine did today?!?" So, good luck with yours. I hope it is more reliable.